The Fiesta Championship began in fine fashion at Silverstone last weekend (6th-7th April), with two eventful races to kick start a brand new season. With new regulations in place, there haVE been a few changes over the winter months, but we were pleased to see 17 cars ready to enjoy the championship this year.

James Waite started the weekend well, with a dominant performance during qualifying. Despite sitting atop the times for much of the session, Waite narrowly missed out on pole position. Just three laps from the chequered flag, Samuel Watkins beat the opposition, to claim the first pole position of the season, ahead of Ryan Faulconbridge and Waite.

Watkins maintained his pole position to lead the pack for the first few laps. A tight battle for first place with 3 cars wide into Copse corner, unfortunately, didn’t work out for Watkins, with his race ending quite abruptly just three laps. An immediate red flag sent the field back to the grid, to await a restart. As Samuel’s car was recovered with significant damage, sadly his weekend met a premature end.

With a reduced 12-minute duration in front of them, the race was restarted with Faulconbridge ahead of the swarm. Eyes glued to his mirrors, Faulconbridge was hounded by Zachary Lucas, as the pair lapped just 0.1 seconds apart.

Behind, Waite and Larry Cosmin squabbled over third place. Separated by mere millimetres, contact between the pair was almost inevitable as tensions rose. A brief touch between them saw the duo split from one another, as Isaac Smith slotted between them.

Despite the best efforts of Faulconbridge, unnerving Lucas was unattainable on this occasion, as he claimed the first race win of the season. Behind the top two, Smith held on for third place, whilst Waite survived to secure fourth place.

Jamie Going steered his Fiesta ST to fifth place, ahead of Cosmin, Tom Hutchins and Alastair Kellett. John Cooper, Joel Ryton, David Nye, Robert Stevens, Luke Bannister, Jake Dawson, Sam Walton and Marco Ricci completed the finishers.

In damp conditions, race two was a slightly calmer affair. Faulconbridge and Lucas resumed their scrap, with Faulconbridge ahead once more.

Isaac Smith was the one to watch on this occasion, as he edged his way through the field early on. After passing Faulconbridge for the lead, Smith held on to finish just short of one second ahead, enough to crown him victorious. Despite banking an early lead, Faulconbridge was the runner-up once more, holding on for a second place finish, to collect a strong points haul.

Waite and Alastair Kellett completed this subsequent outing in third and fourth places, respectively, ahead of Lucas and Tom Hutchins. Hutchins efforts also secured him the fastest lap of the race, with a time of 1m10.724s.

Jamie Going held on for a seventh-place finish, despite contact with Cosmin in the latter stages of the race, with Joel Ryton, Robert Stevens, David Nye, Jake Dawson, Luke Bannister and Marco Ricci the final race finishers. John Cooper, Larry Cosmin and Sam Walton sadly failed to finish on this occasion.

There is little rest for our Fiesta Championship teams and drivers, with the next round just two weeks away. Taking place during the Easter weekend at Pembrey, we’re looking forward to seeing all 17 drivers back and ready for another round of action.

Leanne Fahy

Comments are closed.