About the BRSCC Fiesta Championship

With a history stretching back as far as 1979, the Ford Fiesta Championship has been a mainstay of British club motorsport for just over 40 years. The popular little hatchback, seen many a time as the UK’s best-selling new car, has seen just about every generation of model compete in the championship as a one make series.

The compact shape and simple but stable front wheel drive layout make it an ideal choice for both rookie drivers to gain their first steps in racing, as well as those who are more experienced that are looking for a new machine to master. At the same time, it maintains its status as a cost-effective and enjoyable championship to go motor racing. It’s not uncommon for younger drivers from the Fiesta Junior Championship to move into the more senior championship when they reach the age threshold to continue their career.

The Fiesta Championship has also previously held a spot as a support series for the British Touring Car Championship. It’s no wonder, therefore, that a number of former and current touring car and GT stars can attribute competing in Fiestas as part of their racing CV. These include:

  • Matt Neal (3x BTCC champion)
  • Gordon Shedden (3x BTCC champion)
  • Colin Turkington (2x BTCC champion)
  • Ashley Sutton (2017 BTCC champion)
  • Aiden Moffat (BTCC race winner)
  • Glynn Geddie (2010 British GT champion; former BTCC driver)
  • John Bintcliffe (Former BTCC race winner w/ Audi)
  • James Kaye (Former BTCC Total Cup winner & works driver)
  • Mike Bushell (2x Clio Cup champion and BTCC driver)
  • Andy Neate (former BTCC driver)
  • Bobby Thompson (BTCC driver & VW Cup champion)
  • Rory Collingbourne (Lamborghini Super Trofeo & Porsche Carrera Cup GB racer)
  • Lewis Kent (TCR UK driver)

There has also been the occasional celebrity racer in the past, with names such as Maxi Jazz (Faithless musician) and Daley Thompson (athlete) getting behind the wheel to try their hand.

The current format of the championship sees both the Mk6 generation Ford Fiesta ST150 (MY 2004-2008) and Mk7 generation Ford Fiesta Zetec S cars to compete against one another, with the latter receiving a power boost and weight break to bring their performance in line with the typically faster ST150s. This means both models can race against each other with as equal a chance as possible of winning a race.

The Championship typically benefits from TV coverage filmed and edited by AJK TV, before being uploaded to the BRSCC’s YouTube channel to watch on-demand.

Thanks to the Championship’s administration being looked after in house by the BRSCC, this has seen grid sizes return to the healthy numbers seen in previous years. This certainly proves that for a number of drivers, the Fiesta is still the racer of choice.

For new drivers looking to start racing, see the BRSCC ‘How to Go Motor Racing’ video.