Isaac Smith continued his winning streak in the BRSCC Fiesta Championship racing with MRF Tyres by taking a brace at the penultimate rounds of the 2019 season, returning to the Silverstone circuit on the International circuit in early October.

Amongst many of the regular names on entry list came a handful of new and returning faces to the grid. Simon Horrobin made his second appearance of the season after racing at Pembrey earlier in the year, and he brought talented YRDA racer Jem Hepworth along for her first experience of Fiesta racing. Alfa Romeo racer Gary Miller would also be present in the field as well as former Junior Saloon Car racer Ethan Rogers, while Richard Ashmole and Larry Cosmin also helped to fill out the line-up.

Incredibly, former champion Alastair Kellett proved just how much the newer Zetec S models had come on since the start of the season when they were equalized, by putting in a storming lap in qualifying to take pole position for Race 1. He managed to lap more than 0.4 of a second quicker than Isaac Smith in 2nd fastest, followed by Samuel Watkins in 3rd, Zachary Lucas in 4th fastest and a brilliant debut effort from Ethan Rogers to line up in P5 for his first Fiesta race.

Kellet was able to pull out a lead of more than 8 tenths by the end of the opening laps and managed to maintain the gap over the course of the next few laps, but on Lap 7 a mechanical issue began to hamper his pace. A couple of laps later, Kellett would be forced onto the sidelines as his Fiesta cried enough and had to retire. This left Smith in the lead with a gap of three seconds and throughout the next couple of laps, he managed to carry on extending that advantage. That was until Lucas found a turn of pace and began eating into Smith’s lead in the closing laps, managing to get the gap down to just over a second by the chequered flag but unable to catch him in the end. Smith took his fourth win of the season with Lucas in 2nd and David Nye driving well from 8th on the grid to take the final podium spot. Watkins and James Waite completed the top 5, followed by Jamie Going, Richard Ashmole, Ethan Rogers, Jem Hepworth and Ryan Faulconbridge.

Smith started the second race on pole by virtue of his win in the first race, and wasted no time in exerting his dominance once again straight out of the gate. By the end of the second lap, his gap had grown from 0.3 seconds to a whopping 3 seconds in such a short space of time. Consistently lapping in the 1’20s in the first few laps, Smith was quick to extend the gap lap after lap and was never headed all race, easily dominating the encounter from start to finish to complete the double and make it five wins in a row after his hat-trick at the previous rounds at Anglesey. James Waite worked his way through from 5th to 2nd place, while Jamie Going had been running in 3rd place for a long time until the last lap, when he dropped down the order and allowed Nye to take up the final podium spot in his place. Kellett redeemed himself with 4th place with Faulconbridge completing the top 5, followed by Adam Durant, Going ending up 7th, Gary Miller, Larry Cosmin and Simon Horrobin.

Comments are closed.