All three championship contenders completed their 2019 campaigns with a race win each in the finale of the BRSCC Fiesta Championship racing with MRF Tyres at Brands Hatch amidst the legendary AIMSHOP.COM Formula Ford Festival weekend.

With Isaac Smith, James Waite and David Nye all vying for the crown, they were joined by many of the regular runners, plus a good selection of brand new drivers jumping into the Fiesta Championship. Jason Lockwood, Simon Smaile, Rupert Laslett and Luke Jones all made their debuts in the series on the final weekend, keen to be amongst the festivities and the on-track action that was to come.

Pole in the final qualifying session of the season went to Zachary Lucas, who would start in P1 for the first race of the weekend just over a tenth ahead of James Waite on the front row, with Smith and Ryan Faulconbridge lining up behind them on the second row, and David Nye starting 5th on Row 3 next to Jamie Going.

Waite managed to beat Lucas away from the line at the start quite convincingly and managed to stretch out a lead of just under 1.9 seconds by the end of the opening lap alone. Straight away Waite’s commanding pace was evident and throughout the race he was able to extend his lead to just over six second by two-thirds distance, before a lengthy safety car kept the race neutralised until the chequered flag. Therefore, Waite was able to trundle across the line as the winner of the weekend’s first race, with Smith taking 2nd place and Ryan Faulconbridge completing the podium in 3rd. David Nye kept both of his young rivals in sight with 4th ahead of former champion Alastair Kellett, followed home by Sam Watkins, Lockwood, Ollie Hunt, Simon Smaile and Jamie Going.

Smith beat Waite away from the line at the start of Race 2 and took the lead before an early safety car neutralised the race for the next four laps. Once racing got back underway, Smith managed to edge away in the lead on the restart and extend the gap to over three seconds. During the second half of the race, Waite appeared to just about match Smith’s pace for the remainder of the race as the gap stabilized for the duration. Smith drove on to pick up the win with Waite securing another strong podium with 2nd place, followed by Faulconbridge securing another 3rd place, his second of the weekend. Lucas and Going completed the top 5, with Lockwood, Hunt, Kellett, Smaile and Ashmole filling out the rest of the top 10.

With just one race to go in the 2019 season, the partially reversed top 6 put Faulconbridge on pole with Nye alongside and Smith starting in 4th alongside Lucas on the second row. Faulconbridge grabbed the lead from pole with first Lucas and then Nye giving chase in the first few laps, before another safety car closed the pack up for a handful of laps. Despite making a good restart, Faulconbridge was unable to shake the chasing pack behind him and eventually succumbed to the pressure from Nye on Lap 12, as David slipped by into the lead. This saw Faulconbridge end up slipping backwards to finish an eventual 5th place, as Nye put his foot down and reeled off the final few laps to take the last race win of the season. Kellett finished off a great battle with Smith to take 2nd place with Isaac completing the podium, followed by Going and Faulconbridge in the top 5 ahead of Watkins, Stevens, Smail, Marco Ricci and Rupert Laslett.

Comments are closed.